News:

"Beep-Bloop" -Matti, probably

Main Menu

Looking for some Sprite Art Buddies! :D (Also nice ta meetchya)

Started by NightThornFox, September 17, 2014, 12:16:12 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

NightThornFox

First off, I saw there was an introduction topic in another board but I wanted to do a couple things at once so I just figured I'd quickly dump an introduction in here.
I've been reading Redwall since the end of middle-school (I was sort of late to discovering the series) and so far I have read them in publication order all the way up to Marlfox (I would be farther but college has kept me too busy to read).

Anyways, so what this is about, is I'm a novice programmer (took a semester of C# in college and have been teaching myself to use Game Maker Studio Pro). Well for the past week or so I got it in my head that the next project I worked on I thought it would be neat to try making a little NES Zelda-esque game themed in the Redwall world. I've had some ideas for characters and some loose story.
This isn't really going to be something monumental, but when I work on projects I like it to be something really fun and exciting, and since I love Redwall so much I thought a game themed around that would be a ton of fun to tinker with!

Also by "Buddies", if any of you guys are interested in helping out with art stuff, I'd love to chat you up on Skype and get to know you better! Makes working on projects like this a lot more fun and casual, and less business-y. So if anyone is interested you be doing a couple things. You'll be giving me a bit of motivation in my drive to improve my programming skills, and possibly improving on your own art skills, while making a new friend! :D

Just, like I said, keep in mind, this is more about skill building and seeing what neat thing we can come up with. I'm not trying to make the next big-hit steam game or anything. Maybe in the future I can work on making that 3D open world Redwall game I'm sure we'd all love to have :p